Dhyana is the 7th limb of Patanjalis Yoga Sutras, and is the process of meditating on the divine. The word dhyana comes from the Sanskrit word dhyai, which means “to think of”, however, Dhyana is achieved when the dualistic nature of the mind is truly stilled. We move beyond the focus of dharana, with no object or thought to focus on directly, bringing our energies to the universal and surrender to our true nature.

Dhyana is “concentration on higher aspects of reality”

Patanjali – Yoga Sutras

How to practice:

Image: Copyright Yogapedia 2019

Dhyana Mudra: Rest both hands together, the right on top of the left with thumbs connected, palms facing upwards. This create a triangle, which represents the three jewels of Buddhism: Buddha, sangha (community) and dharma (teachings). The connection of the thumbs also represents the union of male and female principles present in every human being.

Meditation: Take time to focus on simply BEing. Just resting in awareness with self and surrendering to the Universe. If you need some support to begin your meditation and calm the mind, check out this beautiful meditation from Mooji.

Dhyana is the state of pure Atma, which is consciousness and self-awareness. Love reigns the seventh limb of yoga.

Chopra Centre, 2019

Leave a Reply